St Mungo’s Academy
Close Menu
Levels of Learning

Levels of Learning


Curriculum for Excellence covers five levels of learning from the age of 3 to 18 across to ‘phases’:

  1. Broad General Education (BGE) covering nursery to the end of S3
  2. Senior Phase covering S4-6 (and can include learning at college)

Young people progress through these levels at their own rate. The following description of progression through the levels is an indication of how young people may develop in their learning:

CfE Level



The final two years of early learning and childcare before a child goes to school and P1, or later for some.


To the end of P4, but earlier or later for some.


To the end of P7, but earlier or later for some.

Third and Fourth

S1 to S3, but earlier or later for some. The Fourth Level broadly equates to Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework level 4.

The Fourth Level experiences and outcomes are intended to provide possibilities for choice and young people's programmes will not include all of the Fourth Level outcomes.

Senior Phase

S4 to S6, and college or other means of study.